Today’s Lynch List

Alright, let’s get started.

First off, Macleans‘ article Harper must act now to protect free speech gets noted by the International Free Press Society and Blazing Cat Fur, and prompts a reply from Ezra Levant: Minimal impairment vs. maximum disruption( also noted by Freedom Through Truth. )

Second, Mbrandon8026 gets his rights infringed upon by an unlikely source:

Our beautiful 3 year old granddaughter and 1 year old grandson made their entrance yesterday afternoon, fortunately accompanied by their mother, gracing us with their presence for a few days from their home out west.

They are clearly infringing on our senior’s right to sleep, but with smiles and cuddles have thus far dissuaded us from filing human rights complaints in both Ontario, and Alberta where they live, and possibly even Federally with J Ly’s troop.

Their middle of the night whimpering caused by their disturbed sleep pattern from crossing two time zones and shuffling from grandparents to grandparents, is creating some sleep deprivation, particularly for Gramma and me, and also is infringing on my right to blog, which is, of course a real charter right. I plan to speak to them both about this infringement, giving them a warning before contemplating more serious action, in defence of my rights.

I am not sure how receptive they will be to my entreaties. The almost 4 year old princess of the house seems to be determined to be in charge, reminding me of Human Rights Commissars we all know and love, or don’t. For her part, she has been insistent upon her right to watch Frosty the Snow Man over and over again, even though it is September.

And the wee lad. He still just smiles and has food fights with himself and the floor. If we thought the potatoes were mashed when they were put on his plate, you should have seen them after. He pureed them into his hair, his shirt, all over his face, and every other nearby solid surface. Garlic, rosemary mashed potatoes as hair gel could be a new discovery.

The reality is that Human Rights might give way to just loving humans right nearby, big and small for a few days, and savouring these moments that will pass all too soon.

Read it here.

Third, Denyse O’Leary’s now-open letter to Ezra Levant gets noted by Freedom Through Truth and Blazing Cat Fur.

Fourth, damn that advertisement!

Another reader accused the Post sports section of a different type of discrimination: avoiding coverage of a centuries-old game played with wickets, stumps and bats.

“It is very disappointing to note that the sports section of your newspaper does not carry any cricket news despite the fact there are over one million cricket lovers living in the GTA,” wrote Zafi Husain. “I hope you will change your policy and start printing information about a great sport which has over two billion lovers in the world.” – The Grey Power television commercial– with the tagline, “You don’t drive like her. Why pay the same insurance premiums as her?” — apparently bothers many readers. We ran two complaint letters about it last week, with more than a half-dozen others coming in. Here’s one more.

“I just change channels when I hear that irritating commercial,” wrote David Janzen. “This ad is not only irritating but offensive to woman. I have emailed the company, but it simply thanks me for my comment. My next complaint is to a human rights commission. I urge everyone to do the same.” – The Monday print edition of the Post returned last week. This unsigned note summed up the feeling of many readers, I suspect.

Read it here, from the Post.

You don’t watch it like her, so why should you pay for the same television viewing as her?

Fifth, a little more coverage of the Boissoin case/appeal, from Impunity Watch: North America. And the Hadjis decision in Warman v. Lemire goes international, at FACT – Freedom Against Censorship Thailand. Isn’t that cool?

Sixth, some feedback for Duffman. From R.J. Grigaitis:

On Wednesday I got an e-mail from the Conservative Party of Canada. It was kind of cute because they had Mike Duffy say my first name (I wonder how many names he recorded). After listening to Mike Duffy talk about all the stuff the Conservatives are doing for Canada, I was given a chance to give my feedback. I was asked to rank the issues I care about. They didn’t have my number one priority listed, so I put “religious freedom” in the box provided. I then clicked on the “Join the Conversation” button and wrote the following:

I am worried about religious freedom in Canada. I am Roman Catholic, and my fiancee is Ukrainian Catholic. It seems that our (the Catholic Church in Canada) rights are secondary to the rights of minorities that engage in activities that our Church teaches are immoral.

Catholic organisations are not free to deny rental of their facilities to same-sex “weddings”, nor are they free to deny same-sex couples from adopting children. Soon, it seems, Catholic individuals will not be free to refuse dispensing contraceptives, nor will they be free to refuse participation in abortions. Soon, it seems, Catholic parents will not be free to remove their children from specific school classes that contradict Catholic morality, and Catholic schools will not be free to teach Catholic morality. Right now, Catholics are not free to publicly speak out against the immorality of the above mentioned minorities. These minorities are free to publicly say that Catholics are wrong, but Catholics are not free to publicly say that these minorities are wrong.
Catholics that do speak out risk legal action against them by the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the provincial commissions. If legal action is taken against them, they are forced to pay for legal council, whereas the legal costs of the individuals making claims against them are covered by the Canadian government. Thus, Catholics are penalised whether they are found guilty of “human rights” violations or not.
I bare no ill will towards the individuals in the above mentioned minorities. I wish them true happiness; however, I also firmly believe they can only find true happiness in Catholicism. I should be free to wish them such happiness, and I should be free to cultivate a family environment in which my children and my children’s children can find such happiness.

I am worried about religious freedom in Canada. I am Roman Catholic, and my fiancee is Ukrainian Catholic. It seems that our (the Catholic Church in Canada) rights are secondary to the rights of minorities that engage in activities that our Church teaches are immoral.

Catholic organisations are not free to deny rental of their facilities to same-sex “weddings”, nor are they free to deny same-sex couples from adopting children. Soon, it seems, Catholic individuals will not be free to refuse dispensing contraceptives, nor will they be free to refuse participation in abortions. Soon, it seems, Catholic parents will not be free to remove their children from specific school classes that contradict Catholic morality, and Catholic schools will not be free to teach Catholic morality. Right now, Catholics are not free to publicly speak out against the immorality of the above mentioned minorities. These minorities are free to publicly say that Catholics are wrong, but Catholics are not free to publicly say that these minorities are wrong.

Catholics that do speak out risk legal action against them by the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the provincial commissions. If legal action is taken against them, they are forced to pay for legal council, whereas the legal costs of the individuals making claims against them are covered by the Canadian government. Thus, Catholics are penalised whether they are found guilty of “human rights” violations or not.

I bare no ill will towards the individuals in the above mentioned minorities. I wish them true happiness; however, I also firmly believe they can only find true happiness in Catholicism. I should be free to wish them such happiness, and I should be free to cultivate a family environment in which my children and my children’s children can find such happiness.

Read it here.

Finally, attacked by the government; the view from Florida; fun with blogging; and coming to an HRC near you.

Leave a Reply

