Heading up the CHRC: an explanation of my comments on Ezra’s site

[ ED NOTE: Xanthippa from Xanthippa’s Chamberpot was kind enough to let me crosspost this item from her blog. You can read the original here.

In the comments to her post, Xanthippa had this to add:

Oh – and another thing that might be pertinent…. If I were the ‘head commissar’ of the HRC, I would also turn my eye towards sexual segregation: in EVERYTHING. Changing rooms – as well as public washrooms – can work perfectly well on the ‘family changing rooms’ model we already have. There is no need to sexually segregate ANYTHING – from schools to religious institutions, from sports clubs and swimming pools to the Olympics. Discriminating on the basis of sex is forbidden under our constitution, and, as the head of the CHRC, I would make certain that this breech of the human rights was NEVER tolerated in Canada!

For this, and what she’s written below, she’d have my support! ]

Yesterday, Ms. Lynch (Chief Commissioner of our Canadian – federal – Human Rights Commission) had testified in front of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights (or something like that – I confuse easily…).  Our valiant defender of the right to not be annoyed – at the expense of the freedom of expression – was at her most patronizing!

Everyone’s favourite WebElf, Binks, has put the video on his site:  enjoy! And, he has some fun linkies tossed in, for good measure!

Walker Morrow also has all the best links on his blog, with a regular round-up of all ‘Jennifer Lynch-related’: The Lynch Mob

Of course, Mark Steyn and Ezra Levant have had a few words about this, too!

Actually, Ezra Levant has a whole set of posts, as he was blogging it live!  (As were many other fine people – thanks to all of them!)  And, of course, I could not help myself:  while commenting at Mr. Levant’s site, I made a comment that can hardly be understood unless one knows some of my views on ‘things’….

Here is my comment:

OK – one more tiny little question…

If there were a job opening coming up for the head of the CHRC (as I suspect after today’s testimony, there just might be): how would one go about applying for the job?

My husband says I’d be good at it! (‘Change’ is still the ‘good’ mantra, right?)

The key here being ‘change’…. because, I do have a ’slightly’ different idea of where the ‘balance of rights’ lies….

I do not have a passport, because as much as I am a Canadian patriot, I do not recognize the government’s jurisdiction over me on this issue.  I am not the slave (chattal) of my government, for them to issue me some ‘papers’ which permit or deny me the right to travel, inside or outside of my country!

Sorry, that is just too much of a government encroachment upon me and my person!

Nor do I believe that a government has the jurisdiction to tax people against their will.  A government only exists at the sufferance of the populace:  its role is to provide external defense and to uphold internal laws.  Citizens ought to be free to contribute to the upkeep of the government at their will – the government does not have the moral (and ought not have the legal) right to extort taxes from its citizens by coercion or force.

Do you think people would then not pay their taxes?  I think we would.  When is the last time you received an awesome service in a restaurant, and did not leave a tip?  I have certainly never skimped….provided the service was acceptable and I am known to ‘overtip’ if the service is excellent!  The same should go for taxes.

Because, if a government has the power to set the tax rate AND to FORCE the citizens to pay the taxes it sets, regardless of democracy or anything else, we will see irresponsible government spending, waste in the civil service, corruption… We all know the story!

Thus – in my never-humble-opinion – it is a gross violation of human rights and freedoms for a government to exact taxes by force of law, to collect personal information about its citizens, to issue ‘travel permits’, and so on.  And, if I were the Chief Commissar of the Canadian Human Rights Commission, my first target would be the overbloated, over-reaching, oppressive government which is smothering us, our rights, denying us our freedoms!

THAT is the ‘change’ I was referring to in my comment….

Though, my husband thinks I’d be very effective at it!

One Response to Heading up the CHRC: an explanation of my comments on Ezra’s site

  1. […] ~ TEH LYNCH MOB– The ABCs of fighting for free speech; Today’s Lynch List; Heading up the CHRC: an explanation of my comments on Ezra’s site …. (missnixon) […]

Leave a Reply

