Winding things down

Hi. Walker Morrow, here.

Well, it’s been fun.

Truly, it has. We’ve covered a lot of issues in the short time of the Mob’s existence, and I hope that we’ve been able to entertain and inform.

But it’s time that I wound things down, and stopped writing for the Mob.

The Lynch Mob was actually started up with, really, one goal in mind: to look into the possibility that the CHRC’s Chief Commissioner, Jennifer Lynch, was compiling an enemies’ list of her critics.

Two freedom of information requests later, and we had our answer: no. Well, as far as we were ever going to find out. Later, Terry O’Neill, conducting his own investigation, discovered that freedom of information certainly doesn’t come cheap – unless you shell out tens of thousands of dollars on a routine basis, in which case your perspective on such matters might be different from, say, mine.

Meanwhile, we here at the Mob covered twocount ’em, two – sets of testimony before the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights’ investigation into Section 13(1) of the Canadian Human Rights Act – and then some.  We covered some of the CHRC’s spending habits, and found that, as a whole, they’re spending way too much for the job that they’re doing. We covered the Boissoin appeal of Lori Andreachuk’s censorious AHRT ruling before the Court of Queen’s Bench, Alberta – and Stephen Boissoin‘s victory. And we covered many other cases and decisions from Human Rights Commissions and Tribunals across the country.

In short, I would say that we were damned good at what we did.

So why am I walking away? Well, I have my reasons, plural. But the only reason, singular, that I’m going to supply is that, simply put, I think I’ve done all I need to do with the Lynch Mob. I’ve covered the issues that I created the Mob to cover, and it’s time for me to move on.

But don’t lose all hope. The Lynch Mob will remain after my departure under the guiding hand of frequent contributor Scary Fundamentalist, who has generously volunteered to keep things going. Thanks, Scary.

And thank you very much – really – to everyone who contributed to this site while under my ownership: Mbrandon8026 from Freedom Through Truth; Don Sharpe from Sharpe StickJesse Ferreras; Eowyn – or as she was known in these parts, Theodensdaughter – from Shooting Star; Rebekah from The Miss Marprelate Tracts; Xanthippa from Xanthippa’s Chamberpot; Marc Lemire from The Freedomsite Blog; Natasha from MooseandSquirrel.ca; Truepeers from Covenant Zone; and others to whom I am very grateful. You’ve all been wonderful, and I couldn’t have done it without you. And if I’m forgetting anybody to thank, it’s not out of malice but out of pure forgetfulness, and I apologise if that’s the case. Finally, of course, thank you to Scary Fundamentalist for his posting over the months.

Thank you to everybody who commented here to keep us – me primarily – in line, and to everyone who linked to this humble site and helped to make it what it was. Especially Binks at Free Canuckistan, and Mark and Connie at Free Dominion: you’ve been great; your encouragement was greatly appreciated.

And thank you, dear reader, for choosing us. I hope that under my oversight the Lynch Mob was able to entertain and inform you, and keep you involved in the HRC debate, in its own small way. And it’s not like we won’t be seeing each other again – drop on by my personal blog for the occasional post, some of which might just have to do with Canada’s HRCs, and maybe I’ll see you around the comments here as the resident alumnus.

Finally, I would just like to say to the contributors, my fellow bloggers, the commenters and the readers: keep fighting. We’re mad as hell, and we’re not gonna take it any more.

4 Responses to Winding things down

  1. We’ll see ya around Walker.

  2. I’m glad you’re still writing at one blog!

Leave a Reply

